AGAHI Awards 2018 recognized Pakistan’s most credible journalists in more than 40 categories

Islamabad: The AGAHI Awards recognize the efforts of journalists and the media community every year. The best of the media industry striving for ethical and responsible journalism from all across Pakistan were recognized as Journalists of the Year in their respective categories today at the Pakistan National Council of Arts PNCA in Islamabad.
This year AGAHI Awards is celebrating dignity for all. Puruesh Chaudhary, President AGAHI and the co-Founder of the AGAHI Awards said, “Ethical and quality journalism plays a crucial role in enhancing the collective consciousness of the society contributing towards a nation’s identity.”
The AGAHI Awards acknowledges journalists’ professional commitment to safeguarding public interests by promoting free, responsible and democratic utilization of the media. The objective of AGAHI Awards is to recognize and appreciate the best journalistic practices in Pakistan, creating a healthy competition within the community, encouraging ethical and professional reporting.
Leading opinion makers, senior journalists, policy makers, diplomats, ambassadors, academicians, professionals from the media industry and representatives from think tanks attended the awards ceremony.
The ceremony was hosted by Tanzeela Mazhar and Shahzad Nawaz. This year AGAHI Awards received more than 2000 nominations from all over the country in 40 different categories from print, television, radio and online media. The AGAHI Awards received an overwhelming response from the journalists’ community – reaching more than 6 million Pakistanis through social media and almost 1 million through SMS for the Peoples’ Choice Award categories: “Favorite News Channel of the Year” and “Current Affairs Anchors of the Year” in Pakistan. Big data and sentiments analysis were deployed to measure the responses for the People’s Choice Award Categories.
Pakistan State Oil PSO, the leading oil marketing company of Pakistan, has been actively supporting the cause of journalistic integrity as the principal sponsor for AGHAI Awards 2018. Talking about role of the company as a responsible corporate citizen, Imran Rana, Deputy GeneralManager Customer Services, Communications & CSR, PSO, said, “Using the scale of operations and its countrywide network PSO actively supports development of the society and its members. The company positively impacts and changes lives of millions through its contribution in the field of education, healthcare, community development and environment. At PSO we believe that recognizing and rewarding excellence in journalism is vital. We congratulate all winners and extend facilitations to the AGAHI Awards for promoting diversity and best practices in the field of journalism”.
AGAHI Awards recognizes the content across various media platforms; be it print, broadcast or digital, promoting socio-cultural values, prosperity and dignity for all. “In a world of rapidly changing dynamics especially in the media industry, AGAHI Awards prides itself on recognizing the best journalism practices. Many of the AGAHI Awards winners’ are now in decision-making and leadership positions across the industry for ‘Shaping the Future of Journalism’, and furthering the cause of dignity for All,” said Amir Jahangir, co-founder of the AGAHI Awards and CEO Mishal Pakistan.
AGAHI Awards recognizes ‘Dignity for All’as the key currency for public trust in this evolving attention economy, where media becomes the platform to promote social values. AGAHI Awards is the recognition of journalists who have shown personal integrity and professional excellence to make Pakistan a more informed nation.
“Water and Nutrition are very important issues which need to be highlighted in media,” said Waqar Ahmad, Head of Corporate Affairs, Nestle Pakistan. “We, at Nestle Pakistan have taken a lead to promote water stewardship locally. We are also committed to addressing the grave challenge of hidden hunger. By partnering with Agahiawards in the categories of Water Stewardship and Hidden Hunger, we would like to recognize journalists who have raised and identified these key issues being faced by Pakistan.”
AGAHI and Mishal in collaboration with multiple stakeholders jointly nominate national and international leading opinion-makers, development experts, media gurus and knowledge professionals to be part of the judges’ panel to evaluate the entries.
The AGAHI Awards 2018 recognized the following “Journalists of the Year” in the following categories:
Muhammad Atif Sheikh, Express News
Zeeshan Anwar, Hum News
Farooq Baloch, Pakistan Today
Ease of Doing Business
Kifayat Ali, 92 News
Khan Shehram Eusufzye, The News
Climate Change
Mubarak Zeb Khan, DAWN Media Group
Majid Nizami, Jang Group
Umair Sohail, Pakistan Today
Corporate Social Responsibility
Zeeshan Anwar, Hum News
Mubarak Zeb Khan, DAWN Media Group
China Pakistan Economic Corridor [CPEC]
Javaria Hina, GEO TV 
Creating Shared Values
Kifayat Ali, 92 News 
Culture and Heritage
Dr. Irfan Ahmed Baig, Express News
Fayaz Ahmed, SAMAA TV
Zofeen Ibrahim, DAWN Media Group
Waqar Muhamad Khan, DAWN Media Group
Zahid Jan, Khyber News
Extremism and Terrorism
Waleed Tariq, Newsline Magazine
Foreign Policy
Arslan Sadiq
Foresight and Futures
Rooba Arooj, NEO News
Adil Aziz Khanzada, DAWN Media Group
Fourth Industrial Revolution
Mudassar Shah, Deutsche Welle DW Urdu
Police Reforms
Adnan Aamir, Balochistan Voices
Data Journalism
Munaj Gul Mohammad, The Balochistan Point
Human Rights
Ramsha Jahangir, Technology Review
Shazia Hasan, DAWN Media Group
Wisaal Yousafzai, The Frontier Post
Rule of Law
Muhammad Asad Chaudhry, Daily Times
Public Finance Management
Shujaat Ali,
Political Cartoons
Ghulam Dastageer, Herald DAWN
Democracy 2018
Sairah Zaidi, Herald DAWN
Democracy 2018
Rizwan Safdar, Herald DAWN
Democracy 2018
Ihtishamul Haq, Jang Group
Umair Sohail, Pakistan Today
Innovation Journalism
Muhammad Atif Sheikh, Express News
Media Ethics
Dr. Shazia Asim, The Express Tribune
Eliminating Hidden Hunger and Nutrition
Zahid Gishkori, The News
Open Government
Muhammad Salman Khan, The Express Tribune
Photo Journalism – Print
Kamran Nafees and Muntazir Ayub, DAWN Media Group
Video Journalism – Television
Yousaf Ajab Baloch, The Balochistan Point
Sexual & Reproductive Health Rights – SRHR
Shazia Hasan, DAWN Media Group
Zile Huma, Daily Times
Sustainable Development Goals – SDGs
Arshad Yousafzai, The News
Vocational Training & Technical Education
Syed Babar Ali, Express News
Water Stewardship
In the People’s Choice Awards the following are the winners for 2018:
Arshad Sharif, ARY News Peoples’ Choice Awards: Favorite Current Affairs Anchor – Male,
Ayesha Baksh, GNN News Peoples’ Choice Awards: Favorite Current Affairs Anchor – Female,
ARY News Peoples’ Choice Awards: Favorite News Channel of the Year,
The Founders’ Choice Awards in the two categories were given to:
Irum Ghani, Express News News Manager of the Year
Aftab Chaudhary, AbbTak News Investigative Journalist of the Year,
Share your comments!